Debbie Kelly, R.D.H., MS Ed.

Debbie Kelly

Is a Full Professor and the program's First Year Coordinator. She coordinates the First Year Students in Pre-Clinic and their first clinical experience in treating patients. Professor Kelly enjoys teaching clinical Dental Hygiene I and II and Periodontics for the Dental Hygienist I. She also serves as Faculty Advisor to the Student American Dental Hygienists’ Association. Mrs. Kelly's dental experience includes: private practice, University of Cincinnati's Department of Otolaryngology and Maxillofacial Surgery, Head and Neck Tumor Clinic, Coordinator of Dental Assisting Program and Veteran's Administration Dental Clinic. In 2000, Mrs. Kelly was nominated to be honored in the publication of "Who's Who Among America's Teachers." She was selected for this honor by being designated as "the teacher who made a difference" by a former distinguished graduate. Mrs. Kelly was also named the "Outstanding Dental Hygienist of the Year" in 2000 by the BlueGrass District Dental Hygienists' Society. In 2008, BCTC's Student American Dental Hygienists' Association (ADHA) received a National Community Service Award. This award recognizes outstanding student chapters of ADHA that have made a significant contribution to the community. For additional information, please e-mail: debbie.kelly@kctcs.edu

Janella Spencer, R.D.H., MSEd.

Janella Spencer

Professor in Dental Hygiene, is the Coordinator of the Dental Hygiene Program at Bluegrass Community and Technical College. Prior to coming to BCTC, Ms. Spencer spent 10 years in private practice in various locations around Central Kentucky. Ms. Spencer's interests include special needs patients, breast cancer, smoking cessation, mentoring, practice management, and community dental health. Her interest in special needs patients led her to complete a Graduate Certificate in Gerontology at the Sanders-Brown Center on Aging, University of Kentucky. Ms. Spencer was named the "Outstanding Dental Hygienist of the Year" in 1992 by the Blue Grass District Dental Hygienists' Association and received the "NISOD Excellence Award" for outstanding contribution to teaching and learning in 1994. She is listed in "Who's Who Among America's Teachers". She served as the Faculty Rep on the BCTC Board of Trustees and is a site visitor for the Commission on Dental Accreditation. She also serves on the Dean's Advisory Board -College of Health Sciences, University of Kentucky where she was named one of the outstanding alumni in 2006. You can email her at: janella.spencer@kctcs.edu

Mary W. Jones, R.D.H., M.P.H.

Mary Drake

Assistant Professor of Dental Hygiene. Mrs. Jones is a 1998 graduate of the Dental Hygiene Program at Lexington Community College. She completed her Bachelor of Science in Health Education at Eastern Kentucky University in July 2008 and a Master of Public Health degree in May 2013. In the fall semester, she teaches Periodontics II and Dental Hygiene III. In the spring semester, Mrs. Jones teaches Dental Radiology and Dental Hygiene IV. She is the rotation coordinator for the 2nd year dental hygiene students. Prior to teaching at BCTC, Mrs. Jones worked for 10 years in private practice doing clinical dental hygiene. She has worked in various Appalachian areas, such as Eastern Kentucky, Southwest Virginia, and West Virginia. She enjoys doing fill-in work during the summer and volunteers regularly at Mission Lexington Dental Clinic. She was the 2013-14 President of the Bluegrass District Dental Hygienists' Association. Mrs. Jones served as an ex-officio member of the Kentucky Board of Dentistry, representing dental hygiene schools, for the 2013-2014 year. She is the 2014-15 Vice President of the Kentucky Dental Hygienists' Association. You can email her at: maryw.jones@kctcs.edu.

Other Faculty

  • Kim Breeding
  • Dr. Barb Emler
  • Crystal Hacker
  • Ginger Johnson
  • Lisa Johnston
  • Ami McDonald
  • Andee McGuire
  • Susan Neuman
  • Kelly Rizer
  • Julie Rulon
  • Dr. Bill Synder
  • Dr. David Thornton