Sustainability News

On Wednesday, February 17, 7:00 p.m., at the Fayette County Extension Office (1140 Red Mile Place), Dr. Margaret Carreiro (University of Louisville) will speak on Return of the Natives: Can we create more habitat for native species in cities?

On Thursday, February 25, 6:00-8:00 p.m., at the Seay Auditorium (1100 S. Limestone), there will be a presentation on food.

On Wednesday, March 2, 7:00 p.m., at the Fayette County Extension Office (1140 Red Mile Place), Dr. David Nowak will speak on Seeing the Urban Forest for the Trees.

If you d like to participate in any of the Newtown Trail Project workdays, please email rebecca.glasscock@kctcs.edu. The scheduled days are:

  • Friday, March 11, 1-4 pm
  • Wednesday, March 23, 1-4
  • Saturday, March 26, 1-4
  • Wednesday, March 30 (tentative paint project), pm
  • Friday, April 8, 1-4
  • Saturday, April 16, 1-4
  • Friday, April 22, 1-4, Earth Day

If you d like to participate in any of the workdays at Peace Meal Gardens, please email rebecca.glasscock@kctcs.edu. The scheduled days are:

  • Saturday, March 12, 1-4
  • Sunday, March 20, 9-4
  • Sunday, April 3, 1-4, Arbor Day project planting black cherry trees
  • Monday, April 4 (tentative), 10-3, bake sale (for Peace Meal Gardens) and tree distribution, Cooper Campus
  • Saturday, April 23, 1-4, Earth Day at Peace Meal Gardens

On Wednesday, March 30, there will be a bake sale (to help Peace Meal Gardens) and distribution of black cherry seedlings ($3 each) at the Cooper Campus.

A planting project is tentatively planned at the Danville Campus, in celebration of Kentucky Arbor Day, Friday, April 1. If you are interested in participating, please email rebecca.glasscock@kctcs.edu.