Institutional Closing

alert icon BCTC campuses and offices will be closed starting on December 16, 2017. We will reopen on Tuesday, January 2, 2018 with normal operating hours. Have a wonderful holiday and a great new year!

BCTC Faculty and Staff Members Honored at New Horizons Awards Banquet

Top: Tracey Knowles and Bottom: Linda FaulLEXINGTON, KY (June 10) Two of Bluegrass Community & Technical Colleges (BCTC) best were among faculty and staff honored at the Kentucky Community Technical College System (KCTCS) New Horizons Awards banquet in May. Tracy L. Knowles, associate professor Natural Sciences Division, received the faculty award and Linda L. Faul, senior administrative assistant Student Services, received the staff award.

Knowles received both honors as the outstanding faculty member from BCTC and the KCTCS Faculty System Award of Excellence. She was chosen for statewide honors by a committee of her peers and received $1,000 to be used for professional development. She is a constant source of inspiration and makes those around her better. She is truly an exceptional faculty member and without a doubt a master teacher, said one of her nominators.

Faul, recipient of the staff award is a 27 year veteran of the community college and is known for her excellent customer service qualities, her work ethic and professional yet cheerful attitude. She is one of the best assets we have here at BCTC, and she sets a good example for all those with whom she comes into daily contact said BCTC President Dr. Augusta Julian. It is an honor to have her as a part of the BCTC team.

BCTC's honorees were among 33 KCTCS faculty and staff members recognized at the New Horizons Awards banquet. A list of all faculty and staff honorees follows, alphabetically by college.

Ashland Community and Technical College

  • Staff Award: Ms. Diana J. Opell, Office Support Associate, Office of Lifelong Learning
  • Faculty Award: Ms. Warren H. Howard, Assistant Professor of English

Big Sandy Community and Technical College

  • Staff Award: Ms. Denese S. Atkinson, Interim Director of Institutional Effectiveness
  • Faculty Award: Ms. Carla A. Reynolds, Coordinator of Business Administration, Medical Technology, and Office Systems Technology

Bowling Green Technical College

  • Staff Award: Mr. Mark Brooks, Director of Public Relations
  • Faculty Award: Ms. Carmen C. Gaskins, Associate Professor, Computer Literacy

Elizabethtown Community and Technical College

  • Staff Award: Ms. Susan T. Berry, Instructional Specialist, Mathematics
  • Faculty Award: Mr. Anthony Slone, Associate Professor, Business Administration

Gateway Community and Technical College

  • Staff Award: Ms. Dale A. Meyer, Director of Grants
  • Faculty Award: Ms. Teri VonHandorf, Instructor, Developmental Math and Division Chair for Interdisciplinary Studies

Hazard Community and Technical College

  • Staff Award: Mr. Elbert E. Hagans, Business Affairs Specialist
  • Faculty Award: Mr. Tony Back, Assistant Professor, CAD

Henderson Community College

  • Staff Award: Mr. Greg M. Tope, Facilities Management Team Leader
  • Faculty Award: Ms. Bridget L. Murray, Associate Professor, Early Childhood

Hopkinsville Community College

  • Staff Award: Mr. Marc A. Barker, Campus/Education Center Director, Fort Campbell Campus Site
  • Faculty Award: Mr. Gregory W. Bridgeman, Assistant Professor and Program Coordinator, Criminal Justice

Jefferson Community and Technical College

  • Staff Award: Ms. Mary Warford, Administrative Assistant to the Chair of Allied Health Division
  • Faculty Award: Mr. Morgan R. Broadhead, Professor of History

Madisonville Community College

  • Staff Award: Mr. Brad K. Downall, Director, Glema Mahr Center for the Arts
  • Faculty Award: Mr. Greg Jewell, Professor of English

Maysville Community and Technical College

  • Staff Award: Ms. Billie P. Barbour, Admissions
  • Faculty Award: Ms. Sharon G. Wilson, Professor of Biology

Owensboro Community and Technical College

  • Staff Award: Ms. Stacy R. Edds-Ellis, Director, Discover College
  • Faculty Award: Dr. Scott Williams, Associate Professor of Agriculture

Somerset Community College

  • Staff Award: Mr. Sean Ayers, Student Affairs Recruiter
  • Faculty Award: Dr. Ron Meade, Assistant Professor of Health

Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College

  • Staff Award: Ms. Lisa Ahlstedt, Librarian
  • Faculty Award: Ms. Sandy Holbrook, Associate Professor of Humanities

West Kentucky Community and Technical College

  • Staff Award: Ms. Bettie U. Bean, Software Training Specialist
  • Faculty Award: Ms. Renea Akin, Dean of Institutional Effectiveness

KCTCS System Office

  • System Office Award: Ms. Terri Giltner, System Director of Marketing and Communications

Photo Top: Tracy Knowles Photo Bottom: Linda Faul