BCTC Students Honored as 2007 All-Academic Team

Photo of Christopher Clark Receiving His AwardBCTC students Maria Church and Christopher Clark were honored as members of the Kentucky Community and Technical College System's 2007 All-Academic Team during the 6th annual KCTCS Student Academic Achievement Banquet held recently at the Lexington Convention Center.

Two students from each of the 16 KCTCS colleges were chosen for the All-Academic Team Photo of Maria Church Receiving Her Awardbased on a rigorous selection process that focused on academic performance and campus involvement. Each member of the All-Academic Team received a $500 gift from their college, as well as scholarship opportunities to continue their education from 15 Kentucky public and private universities. Together, the scholarships are valued at more than $500,000.

The 2007 KCTCS All-Academic Team Scholars are part of a national program sponsored by national honor society Phi Theta Kappa, USA Today and the American Association of Community Colleges.

Maria Church was also honored as the 2007 New Century Scholar in Kentucky's two-year college system. The New Century Scholar Award is given each year to the highest-scoring community college student in each state in the All-USA Today Academic Team competition. As the New Century Scholar, Church received a $2,000 stipend from the Coca-Cola Foundation and the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation. Additionally, she represented Kentucky at the American Association of Community Colleges Annual Meeting held April 14-17 in Tampa, Fla. Church was also the recipient of the KCTCS Martha Johnson Scholarship for $2,500. Martha Johnson, a native of Ashland and a graduate of Ashland Community and Technical College, serves as the vice president of communications and corporate affairs for Ashland, Inc. and is a member of the KCTCS Foundation, Inc. Board of Directors.