BCTC students named 2012 Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Scholars

LEXINGTON, Ky. (April 2, 2012) Two students from Bluegrass Community amp; Technical College have been selected as 2012 Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Scholars. Out of 1,700 applicants, Brandon Smith was selected as a Bronze Scholar and Kandi Bennett was selected as a Silver Scholar.

The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation sponsors the Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team program by recognizing 50 scholars in three categories: Gold, Silver and Bronze. The organization provides nearly $187,500 in scholarships annually.

Bronze Scholars receive a $1,000 scholarship and special medallion. Silver Scholars also receive a medallion, but get a check for $1,250. The scholars will receive recognition during ceremonies held on their campus.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society administers the Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Program and recognizes scholars during All-State Community College Academic Team Recognition ceremonies in 38 states.

Community college presidents or their designated nominators were able to submit no more than two nominations per campus for this award. Scholars are selected by an independent panel of judges, which considers outstanding academic rigor, grade point average, academic and leadership awards, and engagement in college and community service.

We thank the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation for their vote of confidence in community college students by investing in their futures, said Phi Theta Kappa Executive Director Dr. Rod Risley. Their support is especially welcome during this challenging economic climate, as more and more community college students need additional resources to help them complete their degrees.

The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation has a long history of providing financial assistance to outstanding students at community colleges, said President of the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation J. Mark Davis. We are proud to partner with Phi Theta Kappa and make it possible for deserving students to achieve their educational goals.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society is the largest honor society in America with more than 1,280 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 states, Canada, Germany, Peru and several other countries and U.S. territories. About 135,000 students are inducted annually, and more than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918.