BCTC's Dr. Augusta Julian awarded the Martha Layne Collins Leadership Award

Dr. JulianLEXINGTON, Ky. (April 15, 2016) - Dr. Augusta Julian, president of Bluegrass Community and Technical College (BCTC) has been selected as one of three winners for the Martha Layne Collins Leadership Award for 2016.

Dr. Julian will receive her award at the 17th annual Women's Business and Leadership Conference on Thursday, May 5th, at the Marriott Griffin Gate in Lexington. Along with Dr. Julian, two other winners will be recognized including Paula Hanson, Director of Tax Services, Dean Dorton Allen Ford, PLLC, Lexington; and Marta Miranda, President/CEO, Center for Women and Families, Louisville.

"I am incredibly honored by this recognition by Women Leading Kentucky and in this group of women leaders," said Dr. Julian. "This organization helps women to pursue their hopes and dreams. That is what we do in higher education as well. It is indeed an honor to receive an award named for Governor Collins. Her contribution to the Commonwealth is unmatched, and she is a role model for generations of Kentucky women."

In 1999, the Martha Layne Collins Leadership Award was created and presented to former Governor Martha Layne Collins for her contributions to the Commonwealth of Kentucky and its people. This award recognizes Kentucky women of achievement who inspire and motivate other women through their personal, community and professional lives. Each year, women from across the Commonwealth are nominated to receive the award. A committee reviews each application to assess the candidates contributions to her profession and community, in addition to serving as a role model for other women.

The Martha Layne Collins Leadership Award winners are celebrated at the Annual Conference in recognition of the contributions of former Governor Martha Layne Collins (1983-1987).

All three women will participate in the Awards Luncheon Program from 12:15 p.m. until 2:00 p.m. Thursday, May 5, according to Executive Director, Carol Siler. "The awards luncheon program brings together on one stage, these bright, accomplished women discussing the challenges they have faced over the course of their careers and the lessons they have learned."

KET's Renee Shaw, host and producer of Connections, will facilitate the Awards Luncheon discussion. Governor Martha Layne Collins will be on hand to present the Award to each recipient.

Tickets for the full day Conference, including the luncheon, are $155 per person through April 27; $175 per person after April 27; and $145 per person for four or more attendees from the same company. The Awards Luncheon itself is $55 per person, and a Luncheon table of 10 is $500. Register at www.womenleadingky.com

For more information, please contact Carol Siler, 859-243-5552 or carol@womenleadingky.com.

Photo Caption: Dr. Augusta Julian, President and CEO of Bluegrass Community and Technical College.