Four faculty and staff from BCTC complete the Bluegrass Academic Leadership Academy

Published on Oct 23, 2017

41 Fellows who completed the fourth Bluegrass Academic Leadership Academy at Asbury UniversityLEXINGTON, Ky.—The Bluegrass Higher Education Consortium recently announced that 41 Fellows have completed its fourth Bluegrass Academic Leadership Academy at Asbury University.

Forty-one faculty and professional staff from nine Kentucky colleges and universities completed the curriculum as fellows in the Class of 2017 including four from Bluegrass Community and Technical College (BCTC): Brandon Knight, Colleen Merrill, Ralph Potter and Ty Sturdivant.

They participated in two full-days of training where university presidents, vice presidents, provosts, deans and other key leaders present keynote addresses, panels and workshops. The final session was highlighted by keynote presentations by President John Marsden of Midway University, President Sandra Gray of Asbury University, and Aaron Thompson, vice president at the Council on Postsecondary Education, and former interim president of Kentucky State University.

As part of the academy, the fellows from BCTC also completed and presented a research project entitled “Approaches for an Integrated New Student Experience at BCTC”.

The Bluegrass Academic Leadership Academy is a presidential initiative, led by the 12 presidents represented in the Bluegrass Higher Education Consortium, to build future academic leaders in the Bluegrass Region. The purpose of the academy is to encourage younger faculty to consider leadership career paths and to provide guidance in developing the skills that are requisites for effective institutional leadership to ensure a sound and successful future for the institution.