BCTC Student Organizations

BCTC Student Organizations

All Student Organizations must re-register at the beginning of the Fall semester.
Student Activities office will email the Student Organization advisors with the updated packet.

Want to create a new BCTC Student Organization?
Contact Student Activities Coordinator, Regina Shank
regina.shank@kctcs.edu or 859-246-6523

BCTC Student Organization List:

African Student Association
A student organization to unite all African students of BCTC so as to share and foster the African solidarity.
Advisor: Iddah Otieno, (859) 246-6431, iddah.otieno@kctcs.edu

American Institute of Architecture Students (AIAS)
A professional student organization designed for students majoring in or interested in the field of Architecture.
Advisor: Kevin Murphy, (859) 246-6542, kevin.murphy4@kctcs.edu

Beta Tau Nu (BTN)
A student organization purpose is to foster the social, educational, and professional interest of the biotechnolgy students within BCTC.
Advisor: Jeanne Wages, (859) 246-6439, jwages0007@kctcs.edu

Bluegrass Associate Degree Nursing Class of 2018
A student organization open to all of the BCTC Nursing Class of 2018 designed to foster a love of nursing while developing the qualities of leadership, advocacy and caring needed to succeed as a nursing student.
Advisor: Nancy Bronner, (859) 246-4633, nancy.bronner@kctcs.edu
Advisor: Myra Williams, (859) 246-6475, myra.williams@kctcs.edu

Bluegrass Associate Degree Nursing Class of 2019
A student organization open to all of the BCTC Nursing Class of 2019 designed to foster a love of nursing while developing the qualities of leadership, advocacy and caring needed to succeed as a nursing student.
Advisor: Nancy Bronner, (859) 246-4633, nancy.bronner@kctcs.edu
Advisor: Dianna Vice, (859) 246-6200, dianna.vice@kctcs.edu

Bluegrass Community and Technical College Student Government Association (SGA)
A student organization open to all BCTC students committed to creating, supporting and maintaining activities and programs that unify the campus and serve the student body and community.
Advisor: James Chambers, (859) 246-6781, james.chambers@kctcs.edu
Advisor: Regina Shank, (859) 246-6523, regina.shank@kctcs.edu

Bluegrass Computer and Technology Club
A student organization to empower students to develop in educational, professional and personal dimensions through projects in computers and related technologies.
Advisor: Robert Chirwa, (859) 246-6298, robert.chirwa@kctcs.edu

Bluegrass Women in Technology
A student chapter of the national organization named ACM-W (Association of Computing Machinery-Women). Students will help with recruitment and retention of women in computing fields. This chapter is open to men and women who are interested in helping improve the representation of women in computing.
Advisor: Melanie Williamson, (859) 246-6285, melanie.williamson@kctcs.edu
Advisor: Cindy Tucker, (859) 246-4634, cindy.tucker@kctcs.edu

Christian Fellowship
A student group open to students, faculty and staff designed to provide a meeting place for Christians and all people interested in the Christian faith.
Advisor: Kimberly Ross-Brown, (859) 246-6320 kimberly.ross-brown@kctcs.edu

Coders Are US (CRUS)
A student group student group to provide additional educational and coding experience to students in the Medical Information Technology Program.
Advisor: Tammie Disco-Boggs, (859) 246-6654, tammie.disco@kctcs.edu
Advisor: Sharon Breeding, (859) 246-6812, sharonk.breeding@kctcs.edu

Courier
A student group open to all BCTC students designed to provide students, faculty, and staff a source for campus news and to serve as a journalism learning laboratory.
Advisor: Danny Mayer, (859) 246-6486, danny.mayer@kctcs.edu

Enlace (Latino Student Association)
A student organization open to all Bluegrass College Student of Hispanic/Latino heritage or any student that has an interest in the culture, language and history of Latin America. The clubs purpose is to celebrate the rich cultural diversity of Latin America as well as the influences of the Hispanic/Latino culture in the United States.
Advisor: Erin Howard, (859) 246-4630, erin.howard@kctcs.edu

International Students Association
A student group open to all BCTC students designed to foster cross-cultural understanding between the international and American students, faculty and staff.
Advisor: Charlene Walker, (859) 246-6438, charlene.walker@kctcs.edu

KY Association of Nursing Students - BCTC Chapter (KANS)
A student organization to convey the standards and promote the development of skills needed in the nursing profession.
Advisor: Myra Williams, (859) 246-6475, myra.williams@kctcs.edu

LGBTQ* +Allies!
A student organization to promote awareness and acceptance of the LGBTQIA community and foster connections between all diverse groups.
Advisor: Megan Douthitt, (859) 246-6624, megan.douthitt@kctcs.edu
Advisor: Kimi Snowden, kim.snowden@kctcs.edu

Phi Beta Lambda
A student organization to provide leadership for business related programs and promote community involvement.
Advisor: Sharon Breeding, (859) 246-6812, sharonk.breeding@kctcs.edu
Advisor: Jamie Clark, (859) 246-6651, jamie.leigh@kctcs.edu

Phi Theta Kappa
A national honor society designed to promote scholarship, service, development of leadership, and the cultivation of fellowship among qualified students at BCTC.
Advisor: Cindy Tucker, (859) 246-4634, cindy.tucker@kctcs.edu
Advisor: Tom Rogers, (859) 246-6543, tom.rogers@kctcs.edu
Advisor: Greg Rickert (859) 246-6332, greg.rickert@kctcs.edu
Advisor: Colleen Merrill (859) 246-4611, colleen.merrill@kctcs.edu
Advisor: Ty Sturdivant (859) 246-6634, ty.sturdivant@kctcs.edu
Advisor: Lauren Campbell (859) 246-6264, lauren.campbell@kctcs.edu
More Information

Saudi Lexington Students
A student organization to help new students with cultural shock and adjustments, celebrations and group activities.
Advisor: Charlene Walker, (859) 246-6438, charlene.walker@kctcs.edu

Socialist Student Union
A student organization to advocate surrounding communities about socialism and promote positive social change.
Advisor: Michael Benton, (859) 246-6365, michael.benton@kctcs.edu

Student American Dental Hygienists’ Association (SADHA)
A student organization designed for the advancement of students pursuing careers in Dental Hygiene.
Advisor: Crystal Hacker, (859) 246-6303, crystal.hacker@kctcs.edu
Program Coordinator:
 Janella Spencer, (859) 246-6234, janella.spencer@kctcs.edu

Student Chapter of Home Builders of Lexington
A student organization to promote the construction industry and to gain knowledge and skills needed to be prepared for the business world.
Advisor: Claude Gross, (859) 246-6769, claude.gross@kctcs.edu

Students for Peace & Earth Justice
A student organization open to all BCTC students designed to create and promote progressive causes state and nationwide.
Advisor: Rebecca Glasscock, (859) 246-6319, rebecca.glasscock@kctcs.edu

Students United for the Promotion of Education in Radiography (SUPER)
Continue education of 1st and 2nd year radiography students through networking and contact with experienced professionals.
Advisor: LaVetta Reliford, (859) 246-6238, lavetta.reliford@kctcs.eduAdvisor: Robyn Chandler, (859) 246-6812, robyn.chandler@kctcs.edu