Faculty | BCTC

COVID-19 Updates


Janella Spencer, R.D.H., MSEd.

Janella SpencerProfessor in Dental Hygiene, is the Coordinator of the Dental Hygiene Program at Bluegrass Community and Technical College. Prior to coming to BCTC, Ms. Spencer spent 10 years in private practice in various locations around Central Kentucky. Ms. Spencer's interests include special needs patients, breast cancer, smoking cessation, mentoring, practice management, and community dental health. Her interest in special needs patients led her to complete a Graduate Certificate in Gerontology at the Sanders-Brown Center on Aging, University of Kentucky. Ms. Spencer was named the "Outstanding Dental Hygienist of the Year" in 1992 by the Blue Grass District Dental Hygienists' Association and received the "NISOD Excellence Award" for outstanding contribution to teaching and learning in 1994. She is listed in "Who's Who Among America's Teachers". She served as the Faculty Rep on the BCTC Board of Trustees and is a site visitor for the Commission on Dental Accreditation. She also serves on the Dean's Advisory Board - College of Health Sciences, University of Kentucky where she was named one of the outstanding alumni in 2006. Janella was awarded the Carolyn Beam Faculty Award at the May 2019 graduation ceremony. You can email her at: janella.spencer@kctcs.edu

Mary W. Jones, R.D.H., M.P.H.

Mary JonesAssociate Professor of Dental Hygiene. Mrs. Jones is a 1998 graduate of the Dental Hygiene Program at Lexington Community College. She completed her Bachelor of Science in Health Education at Eastern Kentucky University in July 2008 and a Master of Public Health degree in May 2013. In the fall, she teaches Dental Hygiene III and Oral Biology 1. In the spring semester, Mrs. Jones teaches Dental Radiology and Dental Hygiene IV. She is the rotation coordinator for the 2nd year dental hygiene students. Prior to teaching at BCTC, Mrs. Jones worked for 10 years in private practice doing clinical dental hygiene. She has worked in various Appalachian areas, such as Eastern Kentucky, Southwest Virginia, and West Virginia. She enjoys doing fill-in work during the summer and volunteers regularly at Mission Lexington Dental Clinic. She is the 2017-2019 President of the Kentucky Dental Hygienists' Association and the 2016-17 V President Elect of the Kentucky Dental Hygienists' Association. You can email her at: maryw.jones@kctcs.edu.

Stephanie M. Riehn, R.D.H., Ed.D

Is an Instructor of Dental Hygiene, and the program’s First Year Coordinator. Dr. Riehn is a 2004 graduate of Western Kentucky University in Bowling Green, KY. She completed her Bachelor of Science in Dental Hygiene in May 2004, Master of Education degree in December 2014, and Doctorate of Educational Leadership, with a focus in post-secondary education and autism education, in May 2018. Her research includes Autism and the dental patient. Dr. Riehn teaches Dental Hygiene I, Materials in Dentistry, and Dental Hygiene II. Prior to teaching, Dr. Riehn worked in private practice as an Oral Surgery Assistant, Expanded Functions Dental Assistant, Orthodontic Assistant, and 15 years of clinical dental hygiene. Prior to coming to BCTC, she taught for seven years in the program of dental hygiene at Western Kentucky University as a clinical instructor for first and second year dental hygiene students. She enjoys speaking about clinical modifications to promote successful dental care for patients with Sensory Processing Disorder and Autism. She served as Student Delegate for the Kentucky Dental Hygienists’ Association in 2003, and Treasurer for the Southcentral Dental Hygienists’ Association 2005-2007. You can email her at: stephanie.riehn@kctcs.edu.

Other Faculty

  • Kim Breeding, RDH
  • Janice Christian BS, RDH
  • Dr. Lisa Daugherty
  • Fairreia Gipe, RDH, MPH
  • Dr. Bob Henry
  • Ginger Johnson, RDH, BHS
  • Dr. Lionel Mayo
  • Ami McDonald, RDH
  • Sunshine McDonald, RDH, BS
  • Andee McGuire, RDH, BS
  • Susan Neuman, RDH, BHS
  • Julie Rulon, RDH
  • Dr. Bill Snyder