Leestown Campus Closed

Due to a power outage, Leestown Campus will be closed Tuesday, September 25, 2018. There will be no afternoon or evening classes at Leestown Campus.

BCTC Librarian Appointed to State Advisory Council

Kentucky Gov. Steve Beshear recently appointed Terry Buckner, a librarian at BCTC's Newtown campus, to the Kentucky State Advisory Council on Libraries. Buckner will represent institutional libraries. The appointment replaces Karl A. Benson, who has resigned. Buckner shall serve for the remainder of the unexpired term ending Dec. 17, 2014.

"I am very honored to be appointed to the State Advisory Council on Libraries by the office of the Governor. This appointment will allow me to be an advocate for libraries and library users across the state, and will also give me the opportunity to learn more about issues facing all types of libraries. I believe that this appointment will help me to be a better librarian, which will, in turn, facilitate my ongoing efforts to provide the services and resources that our students, faculty, and staff need to be true life long learners, Buckner said.

Gov. Beshears other new appointments to the Kentucky State Advisory Council on Libraries were:

  • Marilyn K. Morrow, of Stearns, is a library director at McCreary County Public Library. She represents public libraries. The appointment replaces Linda Kompanik, whose term has expired. Morrow shall serve for a term expiring Dec. 17, 2017.
  • Julia E. Allegrini, of Newport, is a branch librarian at Kenton County Public Library. She represents disadvantaged library users. The appointment replaces Kimberly A. Hartz, whose term has expired. Allegrini shall serve for a term expiring Dec. 17, 2017.

In addition, Gov. Beshear has reappointed the following members to the council to serve for terms expiring Dec. 17, 2017:

  • Robyn S. Baxter, of Taylorsville, is an educational recovery leader for the Kentucky Department of Education. She represents school libraries.
  • Louis A. Buzz Carmichael, of Lexington, is vice president at CBA Pharma. He represents library users. Carmichael shall serve as chair of the commission.