Leestown Campus Closed

Due to a power outage, Leestown Campus will be closed Tuesday, September 25, 2018. There will be no afternoon or evening classes at Leestown Campus.

BCTC's Cindy Tucker named 2014 Kentucky Professor of the Year by national program

Cindy Tucker, Associate Professor in Computer and Information Technologies at Bluegrass Community and Technical College (BCTC), has been named the 2014 Kentucky Professor of the Year.

Sponsored by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education (CASE), the U.S. Professors of the Year awards program celebrates outstanding instructors across the nation and is the only national program to recognize excellence in undergraduate education. Tucker was selected from nearly 400 top professors in the United States.

The Carnegie Foundation and CASE have been partners in offering the U.S. Professors of the Year awards program since 1981. Notified in October that she was selected, Tucker said she was honored and pleased that this award highlights the excellence in teaching that Bluegrass Community and Technical College offers our local community. I work with an outstanding faculty who are very dedicated and passionate about the success of our students. This is a great opportunity to remind others about the quality education found in Kentuckys community colleges.

Deborah Holt, BCTC Assistant Dean of Business, Computer and Information Systems, nominated Tucker for the award. Cindy is one of the hardest working faculty members I have ever known, said Holt. She has shown excellence in teaching and has achieved major accomplishments in her career by championing women in computing, said Holt.

Tucker is a member of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), the worlds largest educational and scientific computing society and serves on ACMs Committee for Computing Education in Community Colleges (ACM CCECC), devoted to advocacy and curriculum resources for computing education at associate-degree granting colleges throughout the world. Cindy is a member of the National Center for Women in Technologys Academic Alliance and has been very instrumental in encouraging NCWIT to include community colleges in their efforts, said Holt.

Tuckers award will be announced today at an awards luncheon at the National Press Club in Washington D.C. and an evening reception will follow at the Folger Shakespeare Library, where members of Congress are invited to join the celebration. The Folger Shakespeare Library is noted for its collection of William Shakespeare materials and other rare manuscripts and art.

Plans for Tuckers academic future include continued work with her female colleagues to promote and advocate for women in computing. To this end, she is a co-sponsor of a student group, Bluegrass Women in Technology, which celebrates the contributions of women in computing and works to increase the recruitment and retention of women in computing disciplines.

Tucker is a co-coordinator of a regional Grace Hopper Celebration (GHC) of Women in Computing, the first and only GHC for community colleges, and is planning the second conference to be held at BCTC on April 10-11, 2015. She is passionate about encouraging and supporting women who are pursuing a computing profession and helping them persist and succeed in their endeavors.

Previous BCTC winners of the Kentucky Professor of the Year Award include 2007s Carol Holzhausen Hunt, a retired Professor of English and Womens Studies, and 2009s Tracy Knowles, Associate Professor of Chemistry and Environmental Science Technology.

The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching is an independent policy and research center that supports needed transformations in American education through tighter connections between teaching practice, evidence of student learning, the communication and use of this evidence, and structured opportunities to build knowledge.

Headquartered in Washington, D.C., the Council for Advancement and Support of Education is a professional association serving educational institutions and the advancement professionals at all levels who work in alumni relations, communications, fundraising, marketing and other areas.

For more information about the national and states winners of the 2014 U.S. Professors of the Year awards program, please click here: