Employees Recognized for Service and Dedication at Year-End Meeting

Bluegrass Community and Technical College (BCTC) recently held an End of the Year Recognition Meeting at the Leestown Campus. Dr. Augusta A. Julian, President and CEO of BCTC, presided over the event and recognized a number of employees for their service and dedication to the college.

Cindy Tucker, Associate Professor in Computer and Information Technologies, was presented with the Carolyn Beam Award. This award is given to a faculty member who serves as a role model to students, represents quality teaching, and exemplifies the traits of professionalism, enthusiasm, humor, dedication and caring.

The Faul-Bellamy award was given to Lenelle Gill, Student Affairs Assistant in Admissions. This award honors the long-term dedication of two of BCTC's finest staff: Eva Bellamy and Linda Faul. The recipient of this award demonstrates outstanding leadership and commitment to the faculty, staff and students of BCTC.

Keith Allen, a faculty member in Natural Sciences, and Allan Lawson, a research analyst in Institutional Effectiveness amp; Strategic Planning, were presented with Rising Star Awards. These awards recognize innovative achievement and contributions of employees with less than five years of service.

Cecilia Leonard in the Communications department was presented with the Outstanding Adjunct Faculty award. The winner is an adjunct faculty member who excels in knowledge of subject matter, effective teaching style, ability to challenge students to excel, and their concern for students.

The Changing Classroom Cultures Award recognizes one BCTC adjunct faculty for a teaching innovation that enhances student learning. This award was presented to Avery Buckman, an adjunct faculty member in Architectural Technology.

Three employees were recognized for their leadership and achievements at a separate ceremony held on Monday, May 19 in Owensboro. They were nominated by the college for their innovative and significant contributions, as well as service to students and the community. They include:

  • Administrative Staff Award: James R. Hogan, Director of Administrative Computing Services
  • Support Staff Award: Kathy L. Perkins, Customer Service Associate
  • Faculty Award: Lise I. Roemmele, Program Coordinator, AD nursing program

Fifty Kentucky Community and Technical College System (KCTCS) employees from around the state were also honored at the Owensboro event. KCTCS is fortunate to have so many hardworking, dedicated employees across the state with extraordinary talents and skills, said President Michael B. McCall.

BCTC has six campuses and three centers that are within a 30-minute drive of 95% of Central Kentuckians. The college enrolls some 18,000 students annually and provides training for business partners to more than 2,000 employees. BCTC is celebrating its 75th anniversary this year as an institution of higher education, beginning in 1939 as Fayette County and Lexington schools began to offer adult education classes in trades, industrial and retail education. For more information about the 75th anniversary celebration, visit bctc75.org.