Student Activities and Organizations | BCTC

Student Activities and Organizations

students with their Graduate Achievement Recognition awards

More opportunities to enhance your BCTC experience

In addition to academic success, BCTC strives to offer opportunities that enrich the college experience. We encourage you to find your passion and get connected to your campus community! Below are options to do just that. Don’t see what you’re looking for or have questions? We can help!

A Few Good Men Initiative (FGM) is a program established by the Diversity Task Force for Recruiting and Retention designed to empower males of color, particularly African-American males, academically, personally and professionally.

To learn more, visit our Few Good Men Initiative (FGM) page.

Advisor: Shelbie Hugle, (859) 246-6216, shelbie.hugle@kctcs.edu

A student organization to unite all African students of BCTC so as to share and foster the African solidarity.

Advisor: Iddah Otieno, (859) 246-6431, iddah.otieno@kctcs.edu
Advisor: Yamukumba Mbayo, (859) 246-6887, yamukumba.mbayo@kctcs.edu

A professional student organization designed for students majoring in or interested in the field of Architecture.

Advisor: Kevin Murphy, (859) 246-6542, kevin.murphy4@kctcs.edu
A student organization to provide additional education and community experience for BCTC students by giving back to the community and developing networking skills.

Advisor: Tamarra Disco-Boggs, (859) 246-6654, tammie.disco@kctcs.edu
Advisor: Andrew Ball, (859) 246-6359, andrew.ball@kctcs.edu
Advisor: Sheila Simpson (859) 246-6676, sheila.simpson@kctcs.edu

A student organization open to all of the BCTC Nursing Class of 2021 designed to foster a love of nursing while developing the qualities of leadership, advocacy and caring needed to succeed as a nursing student.

Advisor: Nancy Bronner, (859) 246-4633, nancy.bronner@kctcs.edu
Advisor: Dianna Vice, (859) 246-6200, dianna.vice@kctcs.edu

A student organization open to all of the BCTC Nursing Class of 2020 designed to foster a love of nursing while developing the qualities of leadership, advocacy and caring needed to succeed as a nursing student.

Advisor: Nancy Bronner, (859) 246-4633, nancy.bronner@kctcs.edu
Advisor: Myra Williams, (859) 246-6475, myra.williams@kctcs.edu

A student organization open to all BCTC students committed to creating, supporting and maintaining activities and programs that unify the campus and serve the student body and community.

Visit the Student Government Association (SGA) page for more information.

Advisor: Christina Robinson, (859) 246-6921, christina.robinson@kctcs.edu
Advisor: Regina Shank, (859) 246-6523, regina.shank@kctcs.edu

A student organization to empower students to develop in educational, professional and personal dimensions through projects in computers and related technologies.

Advisor: Robert Chirwa, (859) 246-6298, robert.chirwa@kctcs.edu

A student chapter of the national organization named ACM-W (Association of Computing Machinery-Women). Students will help with recruitment and retention of women in computing fields. This chapter is open to men and women who are interested in helping improve the representation of women in computing.

Advisor: Melanie Williamson, (859) 246-6285, melanie.williamson@kctcs.edu
Advisor: Cindy Tucker, (859) 246-4634, cindy.tucker@kctcs.edu

A student group open to students, faculty and staff designed to provide a meeting place for Christians and all people interested in the Christian faith.

Advisor: Kimberly Ross-Brown, (859) 246-6320 kimberly.ross-brown@kctcs.edu

A student group student group to provide additional educational and coding experience to students in the Medical Information Technology Program.

Advisor: Tammie Disco, (859) 246-6654, tammie.disco@kctcs.edu
Advisor: Sharon Breeding, (859) 246-6812, sharonk.breeding@kctcs.edu

A student organization open to all Bluegrass College Student of Hispanic/Latino heritage or any student that has an interest in the culture, language and history of Latin America. The clubs purpose is to celebrate the rich cultural diversity of Latin America as well as the influences of the Hispanic/Latino culture in the United States.

Advisor: Erin Howard, (859) 246-4630, erin.howard@kctcs.edu

A student group open to all BCTC students designed to foster cross-cultural understanding between the international and American students, faculty and staff.

Advisor: Brian Schanding, (859) 246-4647, brian.schanding@kctcs.edu

BCTC Intramural Sports is an evolving component of the college. Students, faculty and staff, both male and female, have opportunities to participate in organized recreational sports in a fun and safe atmosphere. BCTC offers soccer, volleyball, flag football and basketball. Intramural Sports promote student participation, fun, healthy recreational competition and sportsmanship.

To learn more, visit our Intramural Sports Page.

Donna LJ Murphy, Professor/Director
103J Oswald Building - Cooper Campus
(859) 246-6529
donnalj.murphy@kctcs.edu

Do you enjoy politics or would you like to learn more about Kentucky's legislative process?
If you answered yes, you should apply for a BCTC KY Legislative Internship.

Advisor: Professor Laura Williams, (859) 246-6526, laura.williams@kctcs.edu

A student organization to convey the standards and promote the development of skills needed in the nursing profession.

Advisor: Myra Williams, (859) 246-6475, myra.williams@kctcs.edu

A student organization to promote awareness and acceptance of the LGBTQIA community and foster connections between all diverse groups.

Advisor: Michael Benton, (859) 246-6365, michael.benton@kctcs.edu
A student organization to provide leadership for business related programs and promote community involvement.

Advisor: Sharon Breeding, (859) 246-6812, sharonk.breeding@kctcs.edu
Advisor: Jamie Clark, (859) 246-6651, jamie.leigh@kctcs.edu
A national honor society designed to promote scholarship, service, development of leadership, and the cultivation of fellowship among qualified students at BCTC. Visit our Phi Theta Kappa page to learn more.

Advisor: Tom Rogers, (859) 246-6543, tom.rogers@kctcs.edu
Advisor: Lauren Campbell (859) 246-6264, lauren.campbell@kctcs.edu

Are you passionate about social media and want to be a voice for BCTC to prospective students as they make the decision to enter college? 

BCTC Social Media Ambassadors are involved, connected students who are leaders in our community, convey a wealth of knowledge of BCTC, and can provide key insights into life at our different campuses as active advocates for the college through Snapchat.

If you are interested in becoming a BCTC Social Media Ambassador, please fill out our online form and we will be in touch.

A student organization designed for the advancement of students pursuing careers in Dental Hygiene.

Advisor: Mary Jones, (859) 246-6472, maryw.jones@kctcs.edu
Program Coordinator:
 Janella Spencer, (859) 246-6234, janella.spencer@kctcs.edu

Make the most of your experience here at BCTC. Have fun, serve others, network with others, build skills, discover yourself, and create change.

Learn more about all that SEAL offers.

Contact: Christina Robinson, (859) 246-6921, christina.robinson@kctcs.edu 

A student organization open to all BCTC students designed to create and promote progressive causes state and nationwide.

Advisor: Michael Benton, (859) 246-6365, michael.benton@kctcs.edu
Continue education of 1st and 2nd year radiography students through networking and contact with experienced professionals.

Advisor: LaVetta Reliford, (859) 246-6238, lavetta.reliford@kctcs.edu

All Student Organizations must re-register at the beginning of the Fall semester.

Student Activities office will email the Student Organization advisors with the updated packet.