Divisions/Majors | BCTC

Divisions/Majors

Adult Education

David Sturgill
Newtown North, Adult Education Building room 126
(859) 246-6896
david.sturgill@kctcs.edu

Library

Terry Buckner
(859) 246-6397
terry.buckner@kctcs.edu

Contact

Ralph Potter
Assistant Dean
(859) 246-6770
ralph.potter@kctcs.edu

Brian Sheets
Office Manager
(859) 246-6418
brian.sheets@kctcs.edu
200 Technology Ct.
Georgetown, KY 40324

Areas/Programs

In support of the BCTC mission, the Allied Health Division provides an inclusive student-centered learning community that provides open access to excellence in teaching and learning. Specifically, the Division strives to enhance students' scientific literacy and intellectual capacity so that they may compete effectively in their chosen field. Students and faculty are engaged with one another as active participants in this education process through courses designed to advance students' communication, critical thinking, computer, and analytical skills as well as prepare the students for specific careers.

Upon successful completion, the Division offers credentials including Associate in Applied Science Degrees, Diplomas, and Certificates in career oriented programs. With continually upgraded facilities and a supportive faculty, students will be best prepared to grow professionally and to intelligently address the health and scientific issues that will have an impact on the Commonwealth in the future.

Allied Health Contact

Vicki Partin
Assistant Dean Of Allied Health
Leestown, M building room 105
(859) 246-6414
vicki.partin@kctcs.edu

Maggie Chapman
Division Office Manager of Allied Health and Natural Sciences
Newtown, Science Education Center 205
859-246-6892
maggie.chapman@kctcs.edu

Allied Health Areas/Programs

Contact

Holly Clifford
Assistant Dean
Newtown Campus, NCB 311-D
(859) 246-6244
holly.clifford@kctcs.edu

Laura Hood
Division Office Manager
Newtown Campus, NCB 012
(859) 246-6964
laura.hood@kctcs.edu

Areas/Programs

Welcome to the Humanities Division at Bluegrass Community and Technical College!

What are the humanities?  Best described, the humanities is the study of how people process and document the human experience. Since humans have been able, we have used art, language and literature, music, and philosophy to understand and record our world. These records of human experience give us the opportunity to connect to those who have come before us as well as to our contemporaries.

The Humanities Division offers various courses in art and art history (ART), creative writing, non-fiction writing, English composition, literature (ENG and HUM), English as a second language (ESL), music (MUS), philosophy (PHI), theatre arts (THA), and women's and gender studies (WGS). For those who need additional assistance with fundamental skills, the Humanities division also offers developmental courses in reading (RDG) and writing (ENC and IRW).

In addition, the division offers Achieving Academic Success (FYE 105), a course specifically designed to prepare adult learners to meet the needs of college-level courses while empowering them to succeed both personally and professionally.

"I want to support the whole idea of the humanities and teaching the humanities as being something that-even if it can't be quantitatively measured as other subjects-it's as fundamental to all education."

Tom Stoppard, Playwright

Contact

Angie King
Assistant Dean
Newtown Campus, Classroom Building Room 311-G
(859) 246-6696
angie.king@kctcs.edu

Danitra Wallace
Division Office Manager
Cooper, Academic and Technical Building room 101
(859) 246-6509
danitra.wallace@kctcs.edu

Faculty Directory

Areas/Programs

Visit the Mathematics and Statistics Division Website for all services and courses BCTC offers.

Contact

Jeffrey Herrin
Assistant Dean
859-246-6856
jeff.herrin@kctcs.edu

Angel Cobb (they/them/theirs)
Division Office Manager
859-246-6203
angel.cobb@kctcs.edu

Natural Sciences Contact

Dr. Kevin Hopper
Assistant Dean of Natural Sciences
Newton, Science Education Center 205-M
(859) 246-6454
kevin.hopper@kctcs.edu

Maggie Chapman
Division Office Manager
Newtown, Science Education Center 205
859-246-6892
maggie.chapman@kctcs.edu 

Natural Sciences Areas/Programs

Outreach and Research

Contact

Dr. Connie Lamb
Associate Dean of Academic Affairs
Director of Nursing
Leestown, Building M Room 131
(859) 246-6792
connie.lamb@kctcs.edu

Sharon Collins
Division Office Manager
(859) 246-6503
sharon.collins@kctcs.edu

Pre-Nursing Academic Advising

Sarah Bond
ADN Program Coordinator (Leestown)
Leestown Campus, Bldg. M, Room 132B
(859) 246-6424
sarah.bond@kctcs.edu

Dixie Webb
ADN Program Coordinator (Lawrenceburg)
Lawrenceburg, Room 111
(859) 246-6818
dixie.webb@kctcs.edu

Ryan Turner
ADN Program Coordinator (Winchester)
(859) 246-6444
ryan.turner@kctcs.edu 

Associate Degree Nursing website

Alicia Husted, MSN, APRN
PN Program Coordinator (Leestown)
(859) 246-4614
alicia.husted@kctcs.edu


Melanie Sallee
PN Program Coordinator (Danville)
(859)246-6868
melanie.sallee@kctc.edu

Practical Nursing website

Julie Venables, ADN, RN
Nurse Aide/KY Medication Aide Coordinator
Leestown Campus, Bldg. A Room A259
(859) 246-6489
julia.venables@kctcs.edu

Kristi Holt, RN
Nurse Aide Faculty
Leestown Campus, Bldg. A, Room 257
(859) 246-6448
kristi.holt@kctcs.edu

Nurse Aide Testing
(859) 246-6733
bll-nurseaidtesting@kctcs.edu

Nurse Aide website

Contact

Laura Lynch
Assistant Dean Skilled Trades
Leestown Campus Building M Room 112
859 246-6583 office
859 270-5563 cell
Laura.lynch@kctcs.edu

Brian Sheets
Office Manager
200 Technology Ct.
Georgetown, KY 40324
(859) 246-6418
brian.sheets@kctcs.edu 

Areas/Programs