Divisions/Majors

Adult Education

David Sturgill
Newtown North, Adult Education Building room 126
(859) 246-6896
david.sturgill@kctcs.edu

Library

Terry Buckner
(859) 246-6397
terry.buckner@kctcs.edu

Contact

Melanie Williamson
Assistant Dean
Newtown, Classrroom Building room 213-P
(859) 246-6326
melanie.williamson@kctcs.edu

Ginger Porter
Office Manager
Newtown, Classroom Building rooms 311 and 213
(859) 246-6283
ginger.porter@kctcs.edu

Areas/Programs

Contact

Jenny Jones
Assistant Dean
Newtown Campus, NCB 311-F
(859) 246-6653
jenny.jones@kctcs.edu

Verna Rodgers
Division Office Manager
Cooper, Academic and Technical Building room 202
(859) 246-6322
Fax: (859) 246-4673
verna.rodgers@kctcs.edu

Areas/Programs

Welcome to the Humanities Division at Bluegrass Community and Technical College!

What are the humanities?  Best described, the humanities is the study of how people process and document the human experience. Since humans have been able, we have used art, language and literature, music, and philosophy to understand and record our world. These records of human experience give us the opportunity to connect to those who have come before us as well as to our contemporaries.

The Humanities Division offers various courses in art and art history (ART), creative writing, non-fiction writing, English composition, literature (ENG and HUM), English as a second language (ESL), music (MUS), philosophy (PHI), theatre arts (THA), and women’s and gender studies (WGS). For those who need additional assistance with fundamental skills, the Humanities division also offers developmental courses in reading (RDG) and writing (ENC and IRW).

In addition, the division offers Achieving Academic Success (FYE 105), a course specifically designed to prepare adult learners to meet the needs of college-level courses while empowering them to succeed both personally and professionally.

"I want to support the whole idea of the humanities and teaching the humanities as being something that—even if it can’t be quantitatively measured as other subjects—it’s as fundamental to all education."

Tom Stoppard, Playwright

Contact

Angie King
Assistant Dean
Cooper, Academic and Technical Building room 101-B
(859) 246-6696
angie.king@kctcs.edu

Danitra Wallance
Division Office Manager
Cooper, Academic and Technical Building room 101
(859) 246-6509
danitra.wallace@kctcs.edu

Faculty Directory

Areas/Programs

Visit the Matematics and Statistics Division Website for all services and courses BCTC offers.

Contact

Kausha Miller
Assistant Dean
(859) 246-6431
kausha.miller@kctcs.edu

Tonya Spivey
Division Office Manager
(859) 246-6411
tonya.spivey@kctcs.edu

Contact

Dr. Melinda Baker
Assistant Dean
Leestown, Building M room 131
(859) 246-6819
melinda.baker@kctcs.edu

Sharon Prather
Division Office Manager
(859) 246-6503
sharon.prather@kctcs.edu

Pre-Nursing Academic Advising

Lise Roemmele
ADN Program Coordinator (Cooper)
Cooper, Oswald Building room 303J
(859) 246-6474
lise.roemmele@kctcs.edu

Dixie Webb
ADN Program Coordinator (Lawrenceburg)
Lawrenceburg, Room 111
(859) 246-6818
dixie.webb@kctcs.edu

Associate Degree Nursing website

Melinda Greenlese
PN Program Coordinator (Leestown)
(859) 246-6734
melinda.greenlese@kctcs.edu

Evelyn Grigsby
PN Program Director (Danville)
(859) 246-6882
evelyn.grigsby@kctcs.edu

Practical Nursing website

Janie Thompson
Nurse Aid Coordinator
Leestown Campus
(859) 246-4640
janie.thompson@kctcs.edu

Nurse Aide Testing
(859) 246-6733
bll-nurseaidtesting@kctcs.edu

Nurse Aide website